top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureC.A. Bodenheimer

With a Heavy Heart I Must Report...

Updated: Dec 24, 2019

August 30th, 1864

Gadsden, Ala

To: General Wheeler, Cavalry Corp Commander, Army of Tennessee


Sir,

It is with a heavy heart that I must report to you the tragic events of recent past.


Yesterday the 29th instant, it was with much sadness that I had to preside over the regiment of the 8th Confederate Cavalry and a section of the 1st South Carolina Artillery in a burial ceremony of our Brigade Commander, Brigadier General M. S. Haessly.


As soon as the incident was reported to my staff and I, we departed post haste to Gallant, Alabama to assist the Little General's family as best we could. We passed the hat around the division and every soldier gave up a month's pay to aid in the services so that the family had less worries on their shoulder.


The service was moving and there was not a dry eye in the chapel as the Reverend read the 23rd Psalm and Amazing Grace was sung as solemnly as expected. I have detailed myself and my staff to remain with the family as long as possible to assist them in whatever needs there may be and I have sent a flag of truce through to the enemy to beg their indulgence in a cease fire during this time of grief.


The Little General was buried on her farm underneath a large tree with a beautiful view of a cross of Jesus on the mountain overlooking the valley. We fired volley after volley after volley and gave her the most proper benevolence that we could.


General Sir, In all of my time in combat and in war, I have not once shed a tear until the fall of our own Brigade Commander. I hope this does not tarnish the reputation you see in me or my men. We will remain in Gallant and Gadsden until you order us otherwise.


If you would like to forward me anything to say or do to the family, I await your orders.



I beg to remain your most humble and grieving servant,

Captain C. A. Bodenheimer

8th Confederate Cavalry

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page