top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureC.A. Bodenheimer

After Action Report - Argo, Ala

General Stoneman

Nashville, Tenn

Feb 3, 1862


General Sir, I write to inform you of our little foray into Alabama. We proceeded through the hills up to the Tennessee River without incident. We ferried across the river and I think the honest little Secesh didn't charge us too much at only 59 dollars per horse. We continued down the valleys, up and over the hills, and down more valleys. It has rained and rained and rained and I think the rebels down here are paying the preachers too much to pray for them.


The only incident we had was at a little country store in Arbo, Argue, Argo, whatever the little town's name was, and met a very large contingency of Rebels on foot. We hit them hard and fast and retreated to hit them on the flank. Our aim, Sir wasn't the stores but the cupcakes and home made donuts they had fried up for their lunches.


We came up on their flank with our mountain howitzer but was pushed back by a volley of overwhelming firepower. I pressed the men forward in a charge only to be met with a counter-charge. A few of my men were killed, several wounded and left for prisoners while I high-tailed my ass along with a few others out of "dodge" or whatever those rebs say.


I'm camped here on a river just outside of Elyton, the local townsfolk are having us a banquet tonight in our honor. They are calling us saviors and heroes, and I will write more afterwards for my official report.


I remain your servant,

Col. C. A. Bodenheimer

7th Kentucky Cavalry, Commanding



P.S.

The Banquet was a rouse to capture my men by the fair ladies of the town. Since I was the only one not drinking the spiked wine, I had my wits about me and escaped. I'm not sure if I will recover them or not. Details forthcoming.



161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page